Lapland - Above ordinary
Skip to content Back to top Sitemap Feedback Print

Regional land use plan

The regional land use plan presents the principles of land use and the community structure, and defines the areas that are significant for the development of the region. Area reservations are only allocated for the sections needed to meet the national or regional objectives or reconcile the use of land areas of more than one municipality, and only to the accuracy required. The regional land use plan may also be drafted thematically or phase by phase.

The regional land use plan is that presented on the map along with its provisions. A written report presenting the grounds for the resolutions as well as the objectives of the plan is attached to the map. Regional planning is governed by the Land Use and Building Act ( Maankäyttö- ja rakennuslaki, no. 132 of 1999) as well as the Land Use and Building Decree ( Maankäyttö- ja rakennusasetus), no. 895 of 1999. The regional land use plan is approved by the council of the Regional Council of Lapland and ratified by the Ministry of the Environment. According to the new legislation, the regional land use plan is the only plan that must be ratified by a government official.

The most pivotal legal effect of the regional land use plan is that it is used as a guideline for drafting and changing the master plan and town plan, as well as in other operations for arranging area use. In planning operations regarding area use and in making decisions about their implementation, the officials must take the regional land use plan into account, strive to promote its implementation, and ensure that no actions taken will hinder implementation of the plan.

Due to the generality of the plan, official bodies, particularly municipalities, take part in the planning, but all citizens in the area also have the opportunity to affect and participate in the preparation of the plan. The various stages of the planning process are announced in newspapers and as public notices on the notice boards of the municipalities.