Lapland - Above ordinary
Skip to content Back to top Sitemap Feedback Print

EU programmes

Structural funds (ERDF and ESF):
Sustainable growth and jobs 2014 - 2020 - Finland's structural funds programme

A single structural fund programme is being realised throughout mainland Finland. This programme will include both European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) and European Social Fund (ESF) activities. 

Finland's structural fund programme includes five policy lines that specifically support the competitiveness of SMEs and employment.  Cross-cutting themes include promotion of a low-carbon economy, sustainable development, parity and equality between the sexes. The structural fund programme will pursue realisation of the Europe 2020 strategy's objectives.

Policy lines include:

  1. The competitiveness of SMEs (ERDF)
  2. Production and utilisation of new information and expertise (ERDF)
  3. Mobility of jobs and labour force (ESF)
  4. Education, professional skills and lifelong learning (ESF)
  5. Social participation and prevention of poverty (ESF)

More information on the national website

Regional Council of Lapland is one of the authorities in Lapland granting ERDF funding.

The strategy of the ERDF programme for Northern Finland is to increase innovativeness, promote the growth of businesses, improve accessibility, and strengthen the attractiveness of the region. The objective of the programme is to improve the competitive edge of Northern Finland on the international and national levels and to rise to the challenge of the structural changes in the economy. One of the objectives of the programme is to also manage the upcoming change in the population structure and the regional divide of the population. For more information, please contact our regional development experts Samu Rötkönen or Olli Pohjonen (first name.surname(at)

Interreg V A North

Interreg V A Nord is an EU program supporting cross-border cooperation in order to strengthen the economic and social development. Areas included in the program are north Norway, north Finland, north Sweden and Sápmi (which spreads over all three countries).The overall goal for the current program is to strengthen the competitiveness and attractiveness of the program area. To accomplish this, the region needs to be developed in an economic, social and environmental sustainable way. It is desirable that the cross-border cooperation takes place between all three countries, Norway, Sweden and Finland, as far as possible, and that they aim to identify common challenges and opportunities. Read more about the Interreg V A North programme .

Kolarctic Cross Border Cooperation 2014-2020

Kolarctic CBC is a programme promoting cross-border cooperation between North-West Russia and the North Calotte. It is one of several programmes working across the external borders of the European Union. It is also a financing tool for e.g. the Barents Cooperation that has started in the 1990's. Read more on the Kolarctic CBC website .

The Northern Periphery and Arctic Cooperation Programme

The Northern Periphery and Arctic Cooperation Programme 2014-2020 aims to expand the regions' horizons, building on concrete outcomes and enabling the programme area to become a first class region in which to live, study, work, visit, and invest. The programme aims to maintain and develop robust and competitive communities by using innovation; to promote entrepreneurship to realize the potential of the programme area’s competitive advantage; to foster energy-secure communities through promotion of renewable energy and energy efficiency; and to protect, promote and develop cultural and natural heritage in the programme area. Programme funding may cover up to 60 per cent of the costs of individual projects.There are 9 partner countries participating in the programme whose area covers regions in Finland, Sweden, Norway, Ireland, Scotland, and Northern Ireland, as well as the whole of Iceland, Gre enland and the Faroe Islands. The Regional Council of Lapland operates as the Finnish contact point for the programme .Read more about the Northern Periphery and Arctic Programme (in Finnish).

The Interreg Baltic Sea Region
The Interreg Baltic Sea Region 2014-2020 is one of the transnational programmes by the European Union. It covers mainly countries around the Baltic Sea. The whole area of Finland belongs to the programme area.